2 millennial mayors to get honors

2 millennial mayors to get honors

Gregg M. Rubio (The Freeman) – August 5, 2019 – 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines — The Outstanding Cebuano Awards (TOCA) committee has picked two young Cebu mayors among the roster of awardees this year, thanks to their active participation in public service.

They are Talisay City Mayor Gerald Anthony “Samsam” Gullas Jr. and Daanbantayan Mayor Sun Shimura.

Gullas will be awarded in the field of public service while Shimura in government service.

The two chief executives belong to the millennial generation, defined by Pew Research as those born between 1981 and 1996.

The 35-year-old Gullas was first elected unopposed as congressman of the first legislative district of Cebu in 2013, succeeding his grandfather, incumbent Rep. Eduardo Gullas, who has served the district for 21 years.

Giving way to his grandfather, Samsam had not sought a third term in the May 13, 2019 elections but instead ran and won as mayor of Talisay City.

On the other hand, the 34-year-old Shimura was first elected municipal mayor of Daanbantayan in 2007 at the age of 22, succeeding his mother, former mayor Maria Luisa Loot, who was then his vice mayor.

After one term as mayor, Shimura ran and won as Provincial Board member in the fourth legislative district in 2010 and completed his three terms.

In the midterm elections this year, he again ran and won as mayor with his position at the PB being replaced by his wife, PB Member Kerrie Keane Shimura.

Aside from Gullas and Shimura, other awardees this year are Engr. Samuel Augosto Jr. in field of environment; Engr. Allan Alvez in the field of engineering management; Ramoncito Arquiza in the field of general services; Dr. Cornelio Duaso in the field of science and technology; Engr. Rodel Naval in the field of mechanical engineering; Engr. Leonides Paragsa in the field of design consultancy; Engr. Siegfred Sia in the field of poverty alleviation; and Dr. Edwin Torillo in the field of education.

Now on its 19th year, TOCA aims to honor outstanding Cebuanos for their contributions in the community and in nation building.

The award categories are extended to Cebuanos who excel in their own fields of endeavor and who have a high level of performance in the fields for which they are nominated.

The awarding ceremony will be the main highlight of DYCM’s “Tingog Sa Lungsod” program’s 37th anniversary celebration hosted by TOCA executive director Engr. Greg Senining on August 17, 7 p.m., at the Sacred Heart Center on D. Jakosalem Street, Cebu City. (FREEMAN)



Check Also

DSWD starts payout for waitlisted SAP beneficiaries in Cebu

DSWD starts payout for waitlisted SAP beneficiaries in Cebu Mitchelle L. Palaubsanon (The Freeman) …

Leave a Reply

© CebuCentral.Com