Breaking News

Barangays to lose ‘drug-cleared’ status

Barangays to lose ‘drug-cleared’ status

May B. Miasco (The Freeman) – May 19, 2019 – 12:00am

CEBU, Philippines —  Many from the 245 barangays in Cebu province are feared to lose their drug-cleared status, based from the recent revalidation of the Cebu Provincial Anti-Drug Abuse Office (CPADAO).

Meanwhile, another 37 barangays in the province have qualified for the onsite validation to determine whether they can be included in the list of drug-cleared villages.

CPADAO Chief Carmen Remedios Durano-Meca told reporters that, based on the timeline, the drug-clearing reevaluation or revalidation may be completed by June 13.

She said there are still 18 barangays left for the revalidation process.

Meca admitted that there might be a number of barangays who had been certified as drug cleared earlier that may lose such tagging. She is just waiting for the completion of the revalidation process before she could name these barangays.

The revalidation process is conducted regularly to check whether the barangays, which already hold drug cleared status, have maintained or improved in implementing its anti-drug programs; in activating their Barangay Anti-Drug Abuse Office (BADAC); and in curbing their drug situation, among others.

Meca also said CPADAO is also working hand in hand with the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency in conducting onsite validation for those barangays that are requesting for the drug-clearing evaluation.

She said only 37 of 123 barangays that have applied had been subjected as qualified for the onsite validation.

Onsite validation, on the other hand, is done on barangays, which still have not gained the drug cleared status, but wishes to apply for it.

Among the requirements for their qualification are the implementation of their drug treatment and rehabilitation program; the drop or reduction in drug affectation; the absence of drug personalities; and the functionality of BADAC.

Meca said the 37 barangays are from: Tabuelan (3); Sogod (4); Carmen (9); Danao City (3); Argao (6); Santa Fe (2); Madridejos (2); and Daanbantayan (8).

Cebu province is comprised of 1,066 barangays from the six component cities and 44 municipalities, excluding the independent tri-cities (Cebu, Mandaue, and Lapu-Lapu). — GAN (FREEMAN)


Check Also

Over 200,000 voters to be deactivated

Over 200,000 voters to be deactivated Lorraine Ecarma (The Freeman) – September 18, 2019 …

Leave a Reply

© CebuCentral.Com